Реклама в Интернет
Главная / Топики

Great Britain.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is situated on the British Isles. The British Isles consist of two large islands, Great Britain and Ireland, and about five thousands small islands. Their total area is over 244 000 square kilometers.

The United Kingdom is one of the world's smaller countries. Its population is over 57 million. About 80 percent of the population are urban.

The United Kingdom is made up of four countries: England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. Their capitals are London, Cardiff, Edinburgh and Belfast respectively. Great Britain consists of England, Scotland and Wales and does not include Northern Ireland. But in every speech "Great Britain" is used in the meaning of the "United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland". The capital of UK is London.

The British Isles are separated from the Continent by the North Sea, the English Channel and the Strait of Dover. The western coasts of Great Britain are washed by the Atlantic Ocean and the Irish Sea.

One of main sights of Great Britain is the greatest English church - St. Paul's Cathedral. It is situated in London. It was designed and builds by an outstanding English architect Christopher Wren. Not far away is Westminster - the administrative center of London. The House of Parliament is here. The most beautiful London park - Hyde Park - is in the West End part of London.

Рейтинг ресурсов УралWeb Rambler's Top100
Реклама в Интернет